| Eliazar Jimenez, R Stars: | | Karl Bertil-Nordland, | [[ (item.title || item.description) | stripTags ]], [[ item.price != 0 ? The Sundance Film Festival concluded with the announcement of its grand jury awards, honoring Lee Isaac Chung’s “Minari,” a semi-autobiographical glimpse into the Korean American director’s Arkansas upbringing, and “Boys State,” an immersive vérité look at an impassioned class of politically inclined Texas teens who participate in an annual mock-government competition. | 15 min Director: Adam Rehmeier A pair of teenage girls in rural Pennsylvania travel to New York City to seek out medical help after an unintended pregnancy. Hubert Sauper When Midnight’s leader, Blax, takes 14-year-old Mouse under his wing, Mouse soon finds himself torn between the straight-and-narrow and a road filled with fast money and violence. The Audience Award: NEXT, Presented by Adobe was presented to: Heidi Ewing, for I Carry You With Me / U.S.A., Mexico (Director: Heidi Ewing, Screenwriters: Heidi Ewing, Alan Page Arriaga, Producers: Mynette Louie, Heidi Ewing) — An epic love story spanning decades is sparked by a chance encounter between two men in provincial Mexico. Grand Jury Prize: Dramatic –Me and Earl and the Dying Girlby Alfonso Gomez-Rejon 2. We did it together.”. Ben Whishaw, Director: Following the performance, Sundance Institute head Keri Putnam announced festival director John Cooper’s replacement: Tabitha Jackson, formerly director of the Sundance Institute’s Documentary Film program. Eli A. Smith, Providing year-round support to a next generation of filmmakers. Colman Domingo, Diane Guerrero, Director: Nicholas Braun, See titles to watch instantly, titles you haven't rated, etc, This Is Not a Burial, It's a Resurrection. Cast: Elisabeth Moss, Michael Stuhlbarg, Odessa Young, Logan Lerman. Drama, Fantasy. A World Cinema Dramatic Special Jury Award for Acting was presented to: Ben Whishaw, for Surge / United Kingdom (Director: Aneil Karia, Screenwriters: Rupert Jones, Rita Kalnejais, Producers: Julia Godzinskaya, Sophie Vickers) ― A man goes on a bold and reckless journey of self-liberation through London. | Engaging and celebrating native and indigenous storytellers around the world. | A U.S. Ben Whishaw won a special mention for acting for “Surge,” while a screenplay mention went to “Identifying Features” writers Fernanda Valadez and Astrid Rondero; the film also earned the category’s audience prize. Sundance Open Borders Fellowship Presented by Netflix: © Copyright 2020 Variety Media, LLC, a subsidiary of Penske Business Media, LLC. Any items in your cart will be returned. Stars: Lee Gelernt, Unfettered access and a remarkable approach to protecting anonymity exposes this under-reported atrocity–and an extraordinary group of people confronting evil. Dramatic Special Jury Award: Auteur Filmmaking was presented to: Josephine Decker, for Shirley / U.S.A. (Director: Josephine Decker, Screenwriter: Sarah Gubbins, Producers: Christine Vachon, David Hinojosa, Sue Naegle, Sarah Gubbins, Jeffrey Soros, Simon Horsman) — A young couple moves in with the famed author, Shirley Jackson, and her Bennington College professor husband, Stanley Hyman, in the hope of starting a new life but instead find themselves fodder for a psycho-drama that inspires Shirley's next novel. Nicole Newnham Waldo Salt Screenwriting Award – Tim Talbott forThe Stanford Prison Experiment 6. In the Yalda night they bring her to a live TV show so that Mona who is the only daughter of the ... See full summary », Director: The Sundance Film Festival wrapped with awards for films in four competition categories: narratives and docs, U.S. and international. Director: Directing: Radha Blank, “The 40-Year-Old Version”, Waldo Salt Screenwriting Award: Edson Oda, “Nine Days”, Special Jury Award for Ensemble Cast: “Charm City Kings”, Special Jury Auteur Award: Josephine Decker, “Shirley”, Special Jury Award for Neorealism: Eliza Hittman, “Never Rarely Sometimes Always”, Special Jury Award for Emerging Filmmaker: Arthur Jones, “Feels Good Man”, Special Jury Award for Social Impact Filmmaking: Elyse Steinberg, Josh Kriegman, Eli Despres, “The Fight”, Special Jury Award for Editing: Tyler H. Walk, “Welcome to Chechnya”, Special Jury Award for Innovation in Nonfiction Storytelling: Kirsten Johnson, “Dick Johnson Is Dead”, Grand Jury Prize: “Yalda, a Night for Forgiveness”, Directing Award: Maïmouna Doucouré, “Cuties”, Special Jury Award for Acting: Ben Whishaw, “Surge”, Special Jury Award for Visionary Filmmaking: Lemohang Jeremiah Mosese, “This Is Not a Burial, It’s a Resurrection”, Special Jury Award for Best Screenplay: Fernanda Valadez & Astrid Rondero. The place where the New World was discovered has become both a romantic vision and a warning. 81 min | Stars: | Yuh-Jung Youn, | 106 min | | Drama, Maryam is a young woman who is accused of murdering her husband and is sentenced to death. Fereshteh Sadre Orafaiy, PG-13 The awards ceremony marked the culmination of the 2020 Festival, where 128 feature-length and 74 short films — selected from more than 15,100 submissions — were showcased in Park City, Salt Lake City and Sundance, Utah, alongside work in the Indie Episodic category, panels, music and New Frontier. | Mihaela Murgoci, 108 min A trio of special jury awards recognized Kenyan film “Softie” (for editing), “Acasa, My Home” (for cinematography) and “The Painter and the Thief” (for creative storytelling). Offering resources for writers developing episodic content.